top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

The Men We Need by Brant Hansen

The Quick Cut: A nonfiction book about what the Bible has to tell us about the role men are meant to play in life.

A Real Review: Thank you to Baker Books for providing the ARC for an honest review. Everyone has their own idea of what men should be like and the role they are meant to play in life. However, if you're a Christian, the answer isn't as straight forward as what we think ourselves. Does God have something to say about what a man looks like? In the latest book by Brant Hansen, this topic is explored and discussed. While the book is about men and the role they play, anyone can read it. As a woman reading it, I certainly got insight as to the biblical perspective of what a man should do and be like. I think it's easy to assume that the Bible would give an archaic concept of gender roles, but that's not entirely the case. Seeing Brant break down what's in the Bible and put it in the scope of society today was certainly illuminating to me. I'll admit I'm fine I'm finishing these book still grappling with some of the messages in it. However, when it comes to books of the religious or philosophical variety, I think that's a good sign. Books that discuss topics like this are meant to challenge you and make you question your perspective. This book certainly does that and I think it will make me think about these topics for quite a long time. I can definitely see this book creating quite a bit of controversy. However, if you can put that aside, I think anyone could get something out of Brants perspective here. A unique take on the Bible and the role of men. My rating: 4 out of 5

bottom of page