top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

Serious Moonlight by Jenn Bennett



The Quick Cut: After a strange night together, a guy and girl work together at a hotel along with a mystery of their own. Emotions fly when the time together creates close quarters. 


A Real Review:

 If you're anything like me as a kid, you had an obsession with Nancy Drew books and any mystery you could get your hands on. Sometimes solving a puzzle is easier than dealing with the complex entanglements of your own life. In this book centered around a girl named Birdie, we see life through mystery oriented eyes. 


 Birdie hasn't lived an easy life. Between her parent's death and living with her grandparents, she hasn't had much life beyond the fantasies in her mind. However, her Aunt Mona means the world to her - being a fount of knowledge and support. So when Birdie starts working at a hotel and ends up working with a guy who she had a 1 night stand with, they are forced to play nice and work together. When working together turns into working a mystery at the hotel together... will emotions run high? 


 It's safe to say I have a love for Jenn Bennett books and this one is no exception. Birdie reminds me so much of myself when I was younger except more open to others. Seeing her interactions with Mona were some of my favorite moments (second only to when Birdie would put together people profiles). 


 Can I just say I need confirmation if the live play Clue is real? Because if it is, I need to know where so I can get in on the action! This was easily my favorite section, but there were many others that were a bit slow. The thing that kept the story going was the chemistry between Birdie and Daniel. 


 With a few slow spots, this contemporary fiction book is a charmer. 


My rating: 4 out of 5

bottom of page