top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

Foolish Hearts by Emma Mills



The Quick Cut: Girl goes to pink party and sees 2 girls break up. Girl who got broken up finds out and threatens girl who overheard. High school drama ensues.The Quick Cut: Girl goes to pink party and sees 2 girls break up. Girl who got broken up finds out and threatens girl who overheard. High school drama ensues.


A Real Review:

Claudia, you are a dork in the BEST of senses. I liked this lead character in every way because I could relate to her stumbly nature. Above all that, she also is an avid MMORPG player (uh, big win in my book!).


Where else can I get grade A confusion like this:


"You're not people. You're... Claudia."

"What does that even mean?"

"I don't know. It means what it means."



Yeah, I don't understand that social context either Claudia and I was laughing hard during that chapter. Yeah, I don't understand that social context either Claudia and I was laughing hard during that chapter.


So Claudia overhears Iris get broken up with by Paige in the bathroom of the Pink Party and book revolves around C&I getting thrown together by life. However, the true life of the story is what happens around these 2 girls and how they learn to depend and befriend each other.


It's a nice tale, but there really isn't anything too special here that stands out. It's girl drama, high school drama, boy. Don't get me wrong, it's written well and the characters worth rooting for. However, what makes this different than the last version of this I read? Not sure.


This one had a secret disorder in it - chapter 51 is where one of our characters talks about their Epilepsy and how their best friend helps them through it. The scene is very genuine and really tells the story of that everyday seizure fear well. I very much loved this moment with the characters and this made the book worth it a lot more. However, it's an extremely minor moment - meant to be a distraction at best.


Its a slow burn this book and that's the big downside to this one. I'm an impatient reader, so the slow pace makes me drop it a lot and I take awhile to finish. For that, this one loses a bit of power along with the far too typical story.


My rating: 3.5 out of 5

bottom of page