top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

Wild Blue Wonder by Carlie Sorosiak



The Quick Cut: A girl walks through the before, during, and after of a trauma that leaves life turned her upside down.


A Real Review:


Full disclosure: this book was definitely not my jam. It took me the better part of a month to complete, which is definitely an oddity considering I'm known in my circle of friends as the "chick who inhales books like food". This one is a slow burn and I do not do slow burns well. I put them down a lot and avoid them for strings of time.


That being the case, I can't help but confess that this one has something. Quinn and her lovely camp home in Winship, Maine holds a power that can't quite be labeled, but can definitely be enjoyed. The book is told from her perspective with alternating chapters that start in June and October and by the end are in August and December. This is done for more than just mere vanity - it does bring about to light some important details of what happens to Quinn during that summer.


Oh Quinn. The girl who's an expert swimmer, full ride to college, and has a full blown fascination with marine biology. There's a lovability in her and how relatable her pain is, even though you don't know what it is for most of the book. The before and after tragedy let's you see what she was like before the whimsical was taken from her world.


Talking about whimsical - a major portion of this story revolves around the local version of the loch Ness monster. Yes, THAT monster. I absolutely chuckled at first, but the seriousness of which Quinn takes the endeavor makes you believe in it and that it really exists. In the chase for the "Wessie", she spends a lot of her time fixing up a boat with her grandma. These are easily some of my favorite moments in the book.



Another major character in this plot is Alexander - the new boy in town. Having moved in after everything that happened, he does see Quinn the way she sees herself. He sees the good, the bright, and the worthy. The way these two interact make me think of those awkward cute interactions you have with a crush, in the best way.


Although a very entertaining book, it's slow, leisurely pace may not be for all readers. The dreamy, colorful world painted is worth the time taken to see this one girl's trip towards growing up.


I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.


My rating: 4 out of 5

bottom of page