top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

Waiting for Fitz by Spencer Hyde


The Quick Cut: A girl and guy who meet in a psych ward plot to escape the hospital together.


A Real Review:

Thank you to Shadow Mountain Publishing for providing the ARC in exchange for an honest review.


Whenever I read books that involve psychological issues, I hold the quality of what is being written to a higher standard. This is primarily because discussing such sensitive topics should be handled with yhe closest of care and concern. So when I saw this one become available involving OCD, I got very excited to see it get it's due portrayal wise.


I'm still left waiting by the way. Let me say this plainly: this book is offensive. Not only is the lead character Addie rude, but she's belligerent and mean. Within the first ten pages I found myself openly rooting against her (which I am fairly certain wasn't the author's intention). When the romantic interest Fitz is introduced and acts in similar ways, it didn't take long for my opinion of him to go the same direction.


Beyond the characters and their questionable qualities, I found that the writing related to their conditions really didn't meet my expectations. Fitz and his schizophrenia really could've gotten a better write, but I've also read some phenomenal portrayals of this (hello "Words on Bathroom Walls").


At the end of the day, don't waste your time or effort. There should have been so much more attention to the details here considering the delicate content.


My rating: 1 out of 5

bottom of page