top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

To All The Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han


The Quick Cut: A girl who wrote love letters to her crushes and then hid them in a box finds life turned upside down when they're delivered to the guys.


A Real Review:

Truthfully, I did not expect to like this book at all. The premise sounds so cutsy and cheesy that I thought it would end up oozing right off the page in overly feeling-ness. However, I found myself pleasantly surprised with a delightful heroine and a zany family who takes care of one another at the core of this story.


Lara Jean is the girl who has a crush, but doesn't date. Rather than move to the next step (for a number of reasons), she writes a love letter to the guy and then tucks it into a hatbox given by her mother who died years ago. Its special given it's one of the only things she's got of her that her other 2 sisters weren't given. Anyhow, Lara Jean's life is filled with time with friends and family until the guys she crushed on approach her about the love letters they received from her... And the chaos begins!



Most of this revolves around our love triangle of Lara Jean, Josh (the next door neighbor/sister's ex), and Peter (the fake boyfriend). Lara Jean is embarrassed about the letters and trying to save face with Josh, who happens to be her older sisters recent ex. Josh is practically family with the amount of time he spends with them and it's clear the guy loves LJ. However, with Peter and her having their deal - is there any hope of a love connection? Its fun watching these three twist around because my opinion changed multiple times. The more the story developed, the more I reconsidered my side.


My only gripe is the slow start. Until the first guy, Peter, receives his letter - I really struggled to keep reading. That first letter received was the hook, but until then it drags a bit.


With a splash of teen drama and family angst, this romantic tale will leave you rooting for the lead as she figures out her feelings.


My rating: 4 out of 5


bottom of page