top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland


The quick cut: Three sisters who disappeared as children for 31 days find the mystery of their disappearance back in their present lives when the oldest sister disappears again. A real review: People disappear all the time unfortunately and typically after 48 hours, they are unlikely to be found. For the Hollow sisters, that fact was untrue when they reappeared 31 days later... Or did they? Grey, Vivi, and Iris Hollow are well known as the sisters who disappeared as kids for 31 days. When they reappeared, they were found naked and huddled together, with no information about where they went. Since then, the three have gone their own ways and made lives for themselves, with their pasts continuing to make them infamous. It's something Iris would prefer to forget when oldest sister Grey goes disappearing again. Where did they go as kids and how does it connect to Grey's disappearance now? This book creeped me out in ALL the right ways. In the beginning, the story is innocuous enough and the characters interesting. However, as the pages add up, the sisters origins get stranger and stranger. You start seeing the oddities in them and wondering where it comes from. Knowing the answer now just makes me shiver and it won't go away soon. It's clear from the start that all 3 sisters are loyal to one another first, no matter what. Even though their lives took them to different places, they always come running when 1 of them needs the others. Their bond is strong and tough and they're willing to go the distance for each other. Seeing that strong bond get tested as it does is what takes up the majority of the plot. The story is narrated by Iris, the youngest of the three and the one who still lives at home with their mother. She's also the most naive and sympathetic of the sisters. Her perspective gets stripped from her the more truths about their past get revealed and I couldn't help but feel bad for the position she's put in. Even in the end, I found myself rooting for her. My only complaint is the number of questions I'm left with at the end. I love the underlying philosophical questions this story subtly raises but I found myself wishing more was explained in the end. It's going to bug me a long time. A fantasy story with a horror twist. My rating: 4 out of 5

bottom of page